New Ashford Select Board Meeting New Ashford Town Hall/Zoom June 17, 2022

Board Present: Jason Jayko (Chair), Ken McInerney, Mark Phelps

Others Present: Lori Jayko, Steve Roy, Richard George, Jake Scace, Keith Lacasse

Zoom: Frank Speth

## Meeting opened at 6:00

1. Appointments: All terms run from 7/1/2022 through 6/30/2023, unless otherwise noted. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Steve Roy was appointed as Veterans Services Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Michelle Singer was appointed as Accountant for a threeyear term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Jason, Kurt Singer was appointed as Animal Control Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kurt Singer was appointed as Animal Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Chris Lamarre, Thomas Elder, and David Westall were appointed to the Board of Assessors. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Jason, Kevin Flicker was appointed as alternate representative to the Berkshire Regional Planning Commission. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Mark, Sharon Morrone, Jacqueline Trottier, and Carlanne Rancourt were appointed to the Board of Registrars. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brenda Church was appointed as Building Inspector/Zoning Code Enforcer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, John Carchedi was appointed as alternate Building Inspector/Zoning Code Enforcer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kurt Singer, Jake Scace, Pete Haig, Chuck Morrone, and Lori Trottier were appointed to the Cemetery Commission. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kurt Singer was appointed as Police Chief for a three-year term. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Jake Scace was appointed to fill out Harley Phelps III term on the Conservation Commission. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Stephen Jayko was appointed to the Conservation Commission for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Tamara Leminen and Leo Mazzeo were appointed to the Cultural Council of Northern Berkshire. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Mike Lescarbeau was appointed as Electrical Inspector. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Mark, the Fire Chief was appointed as the Emergency Management Director. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Pete Rancourt and Steve Jennings were appointed as Fence Viewers. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Pete Rancourt and Steve Jennings were appointed as Field Viewers. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Gary Sagendorph was appointed as Deputy Chief of the Fire Department. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Jamie Christiana was appointed as Captain of the Fire Department. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Jeff Tykot was appointed as Lieutenant of the Fire Department. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Gary Sagendorph was appointed as interim EMS Deputy of the Fire Department. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Frank Speth was appointed as the Fire Warden. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Mark, Walker Haig was appointed as Gas Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brady Haig was appointed as Alternate Gas Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Marge Gigliotti was appointed to the Historical Commission for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Keith Lacasse was appointed as Road Commissioner for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Jason, Ken McInerney was appointed as a Mount Greylock Advisory Representative. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Steven Jennings was appointed as Measurer of Wood and

Bark. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Jason, Mark Phelps was appointed as the Mohawk Trails Woodland Partnership Representative for a three-year term. Mark abstained. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Keith Lacasse was appointed as Moth Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Walker Haig was appointed as Plumbing Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brady Haig was appointed as the Alternate Plumbing Inspector. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Mark, the Select Board Chair was appointed as the Procurement Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brandy Jaros was appointed as Tax Collector for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kopelman & Paige was appointed as Town Counsel. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Lori Jayko was appointed as Town Secretary. Jason abstained. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Lori Jayko was appointed as Treasurer for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Alan Steinhoff was appointed to the Zoning Board of Appeals for a three-year term. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Matt Quinn was appointed as alternate to the Zoning Board of Appeals. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Jason Jayko was appointed the Technology Committee. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Jake Scace was appointed to the Technology Committee.

- 2. Assessing Agreement: The Assessing Agreement was reviewed. There are no changes. Mark made a motion to accept the contract, seconded by Ken. The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Overdue Tax Bills: The Board gave the Tax Collector their support in her work on collecting on the delinquent accounts.
- 4. Public Comment: Keith gave the Board contact information for Mirabito and the group purchasing invoice. He cleans out the beaver activity daily. He will do the work on Greylock Road next week and will grade the town dirt roads. Keith will order base material and call for an update on the tractor.

Jake will contact Steve Roy about placing flags on the veterans' graves.

- 5. Any Other Unforeseen Business: None
- 6. Warrant: The warrant was reviewed and signed.

Meeting adjourned at 7:05 Next meeting July 7