New Ashford Select Board/MLP Meeting New Ashford Town Hall/Teleconference July 6, 2020

Board Present: Jason Jayko (Chair), Ken McInerney (MLP Manager), Mark Phelps

Others Present: Keith Lacasse, Lori Jayko Call-In: Frank Youngkin, Sherry Youngkin

Meeting opened at 6:30

- 1. Approve Minutes from June 15: On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, the minutes from the 6-15-2020 New Ashford Select Board/MLP Meeting were approved.
- 2. Board Reorganization: On a motion by Ken, seconded by Mark, Jason was nominated as Select Board Chair. On a motion by Jason, seconded by Mark, Ken was nominated as Select Board Vice Chair.
- 3. Public Comment: Frank and Sherry Youngkin wanted to know why the board was being reorganized. After elections, all boards are required to reorganize. Ken will send Sherry the information for the Berkshire Regional Council on Aging Zoom meeting.
- 4. Road Commissioner: Keith Lacasse turned in invoices from Cargill, Donovan, and Condron. He got estimates for paving 860 feet of Smith Road at \$24,210 from Condron and \$19,230 from Tri-Town. Keith will ask Northeast Paving for a quote. The state is recommending cold in place paving, which is 30-50% cheaper. It might be a good option for Ingraham Road. Keith will keep the 24-inch culvert he removed from Smith Road as a spare for emergencies. The beavers are not causing problems yet. There is a culvert on Kelly's property on Cemetery Road that is failing. If it dams up, it will cause problems with the road.

Matt Kelly called Jason about the letter the Select Board sent him on 10/8/2020, concerning his access road. Jason will ask Matt to attend a meeting with the Select Board, Road Commissioner, Conservation Commission, Building Inspector, and Planning Board.

Ken thanked Keith and Max for the work they did on the town roads.

5. Appointments: The following appointments were made:

On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kurt Singer was appointed for a 1-year term as Animal Control Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kevin Flicker was appointed for 1-year term as the alternate representative to the Berkshire Regional Planning Commission. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Sharon Morrone, Jacqueline Trottier, and Carlanne Rancourt were appointed for a 1-year term each to the Board of Registrars. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brenda Church was appointed to a 1-year term as Building Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, John Carchedi was appointed to a 1-year term as the alternate Building Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Jason, Ken McInerney was appointed to a 3-year term on the Conservation Commission. Ken abstained. On a motion by Ken, seconded by Jason, Harley Phelps III was appointed to a 3-year term on the Conservation Commission. Mark abstained. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Tamara Leminem and Leo Mazzeo were appointed to a 1-year term each on the Cultural Council of Northern Berkshire. On a

motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Mike Lescarbeau was appointed to a 1-year term as Electrical Inspector. The Emergency Management Director appointment was tabled until the next meeting. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Pete Rancourt and Steve Jennings were appointed to a 1-year term each as Fence Viewer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Pete Rancourt and Steve Jennings were appointed to a 1-year term each as Field Viewer. Fire Department Officer appointments will be made at the next meeting. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Walker Haig was appointed to a 1-year term as Gas Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brady Haig was appointed to a 1-year term as the alternate Gas Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Linda Seney and Chuck Morrone were appointed to a 3-year term each on the Historical Commission. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Keith Lacasse was appointed to a 1-year term as Highway Commissioner. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Jason, Ken McInerney was appointed to a 1-year term as the Mount Greylock Advisory Representative. Ken abstained. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Steve Jennings was appointed to a 1-year term as Measurer of Wood and Bark. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Keith Lacasse was appointed to a 1-year term as Moth Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Richard DeMyer was appointed to a 2-year term as the Northern Berkshire Solid Waste Management District Representative. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Walker Haig was appointed to a 1-year term as Plumbing Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Brady Haig was appointed to a 1-year term as the alternate Plumbing Inspector. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken the Board of Selectmen Chair was appointed to a 1-year term as the Procurement Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kopelman and Paige was appointed to a 1-year term as Town Counsel. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Lori Jayko was appointed to a 1-year term as Town Secretary. Jason abstained. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Richard DeMyer was appointed to a 1-year term as Veterans Services Officer. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Matt Quinn and Bill Johnston were appointed to a 1-year term each as the Zoning Board of Appeals alternate. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Allen Seney was appointed to a 3-year term on the Zoning Board of Appeals. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Alan Steinhoff was appointed to a 2-year term on the Zoning Board of Appeals. On a motion by Mark, seconded by Ken, Kevin Flicker was appointed to a 1-year term on the Zoning Board of Appeals. Tree Warden and Fire Warden will be added to the appointment list for next year.

6. Any Other Unforeseen Business:

There are concerns about how the Town Elections were conducted. All residents were not afforded the same access to mail-in voting. During the elections, voters were given the ballot and told to vote outside where no tables were set up, nor any protection from the rain. However, there were at least four people working inside the Town Hall. The ballot was taken and voters did not get to see it be put in the ballot box. Jason contacted Legal Counsel and their election specialist, Lauren Goldberg, will contact him back. She used to work for the Secretary of State, in the State Election Office.

7. Warrant: The warrant was reviewed and signed.

Next meeting July 20, 2020 at 6:30PM Meeting adjourned at 8:15